On 11 September 2026, NEOPAY — a UAE payments platform originally launched by Mashreq Bank and, since 2024, controlled by a consortium of Arcapita Group Holdings and Dgpays — announced a partnership with Deem Finance, a lender licensed and regulated by the Central Bank of the UAE (CBUAE). The joint product is embedded pre-qualified working-capital lending: NEOPAY SME merchants see a pre-approved loan offer inside the platform, with no separate credit application. NEOPAY pre-qualifies the merchant using payment and POS transaction data; Deem Finance runs the final credit review and approval; funds are disbursed digitally. Specific limits, rates and the operational launch date were not disclosed in the primary announcement. Primary source: Fintech News UAE.
What exactly was announced
Key terms, per the joint NEOPAY and Deem Finance statement and confirming coverage in Fintech News UAE:
- Announcement date: 11 September 2026.
- Parties: NEOPAY (legal entity IDFAA Payment Services) and Deem Finance L.L.C.
- Deem Finance regulator: Central Bank of the UAE (CBUAE), non-bank lending licence.
- Product: embedded pre-qualified working-capital lending for NEOPAY SME merchants.
- Mechanics: NEOPAY pre-qualifies the merchant from payment and POS transaction data; the offer surfaces inside the NEOPAY dashboard without a separate application; Deem Finance runs the final credit review and approval; disbursement is digital.
- Target: small and medium enterprises in the UAE using NEOPAY acquiring.
- Not disclosed: specific limits for the joint product, rates, tenors, exact operational launch date, number of covered merchants.
Who is NEOPAY and why this deal matters
NEOPAY (IDFAA Payment Services) was carved out of Mashreq Bank in 2021 as a stand-alone brand consolidating the group’s acquiring, merchant services, digital wallets and strategic alliances (including with Alipay+ and other global payment schemes). In 2024 a consortium including Arcapita Group Holdings and Turkish fintech group Dgpays bought a majority stake — a deal worth around $385 million. Mashreq Bank remained a minority shareholder. The change of control let NEOPAY expand independently across the region and layer new products around payments — including merchant lending.
NEOPAY CEO Vibhor Mundhada has spent nearly eight years across the Mashreq and NEOPAY organisations; before the CEO role he was SVP and head of merchant acquiring, strategic alliances and digital wallets at Mashreq. NEOPAY had already piloted merchant point-of-sale lending with Mashreq’s business-banking arm in 2025; the Deem Finance tie-up extends the same idea to an independent CBUAE-regulated partner, removing dependence on a single bank.
Who is Deem Finance and why this partner
Deem Finance L.L.C. is a UAE non-bank lender licensed and regulated by the Central Bank of the UAE (CBUAE). Headquarters: Abu Dhabi (Awad Al Otaiba Building, Al Reem, P.O. Box 44005); Dubai office: Dubai Outsource City. Deem’s own product catalogue covers cashback-linked credit cards, personal loans without salary-transfer requirements, salary advance, installment plans (up to 48 months on purchases ≥ AED 250), unsecured merchant loans (headline product: up to AED 200,000), business deposits and financial guarantees. Interim CEO: Zulfiqar Hamid.
For NEOPAY, Deem brings two things a payments platform does not have out of the box: (1) a regulated lender status under CBUAE rules and (2) the credit methodology, risk models and balance-sheet capital required to run a lending book. For Deem, NEOPAY offers access to a high-quality flow of UAE merchant transaction data on which to build sharper SME underwriting than classic borrower statements alone allow.
How embedded lending works in practice
For a NEOPAY SME merchant, the flow looks roughly like this:
- The merchant already uses NEOPAY — POS terminals, online acquiring, merchant dashboard. NEOPAY sees the volume and seasonality of payments traffic.
- NEOPAY’s pre-qualification model analyses this data and shapes a tentative offer with an indicative limit.
- The merchant logs into NEOPAY and sees a personalised, pre-approved working-capital offer from Deem Finance.
- If interested, a short confirmation flow (KYC/refresh) is completed and Deem Finance runs the final credit decision.
- Upon approval, funds are disbursed digitally.
A classic SME bank loan typically requires a full document pack (audited financials, business plan, collateral or guarantors) and can take weeks. The embedded model removes friction because much of the underwriting is already wired into the payments platform.
What this means for a UAE SME owner
Three practical takeaways for what the NEOPAY × Deem model changes for merchants.
First — access to working capital without a "cold" application. Many small businesses have historically struggled to obtain a corporate loan without two-to-three years of history and collateral. A model that leans on real POS flows rather than only classical financials lowers the barrier — provided the merchant has already worked with NEOPAY for a meaningful period.
Second — a clear regulatory status. Deem is a CBUAE-regulated finance company, not an "app without a licence". The loan and its servicing map cleanly into corporate accounting, obligations and repayment schedules are structured, and disputes fall under a familiar jurisdiction. For the underlying infrastructure that ties this into a UAE company, see our guide on how to open and operate a UAE corporate bank account.
Third — the wider UAE payments ecosystem context. The partnership fits a broader trend: local UAE payments platforms are actively bolting adjacent financial services onto acquiring — from lending to BNPL and corporate cards. On the national payments layer and what it means for business, see our overview of Jaywan — the UAE national payment card.
What was not disclosed
The primary announcement is silent on:
- Specific limits and pricing for the NEOPAY × Deem embedded product (Deem’s standalone catalogue lists unsecured merchant loans of up to AED 200,000, but that is a different product from the joint NEOPAY-Deem offer).
- The exact operational launch date — 11 September 2026 marks the announcement, but the primary release does not give a dated public go-live.
- The number of covered merchants and target book size.
- Minimum tenure with NEOPAY and minimum payments-volume thresholds required to qualify for pre-approval.
Final terms will be visible inside the NEOPAY dashboard after Deem Finance’s credit review on each individual case.
Primary source: joint announcement by NEOPAY and Deem Finance, 11 September 2026. Confirming coverage: Fintech News UAE — NEOPAY x Deem Finance: SME working capital.
This material is for information only and is not investment or credit advice. Final loan terms, borrower eligibility and repayment schedules should be confirmed in the NEOPAY dashboard and directly with Deem Finance before any commitment.



