Dubai Land Department (DLD) is preparing to launch Rent Now, Pay Later: a partner bank pays the landlord the full annual rent upfront, and the tenant repays the bank in up to 12 equal monthly instalments at 0% interest. The launch is targeted for early September 2026; the participating bank, the eligibility threshold and the full rulebook have not yet been disclosed by DLD.
The initiative comes from DLD — Dubai's real-estate regulator — and extends the Flexi Rent programme launched on 23 June 2026. The Rent Now, Pay Later mechanics were first reported by Emarat Al Youm citing sources at DLD; the story was then picked up by Emirates 24|7 and Gulf News, with a fresh update from the specialist portal Fintech News UAE on 7 September 2026.
How the scheme works
Under the announced mechanics there are three parties, not two: the tenant, the landlord and DLD's partner bank. The flow is straightforward:
- The lease is signed as usual between tenant and landlord — same Ejari registration as today.
- DLD's partner bank pays the landlord the full annual rent in a single transaction on day one.
- The tenant repays the bank monthly — up to 12 equal instalments at 0% per annum.
- The historical one- or two-cheque year that Dubai renters have paid to landlords drops out of the tenant–landlord relationship: the tenant writes no cheques to the owner.
DLD's stated framing: if launched as proposed, Dubai becomes the first city globally where such a bank-backed rental model is embedded across the market itself rather than existing as a one-off partnership between individual developers and banks.
What is confirmed and what is still open
| Parameter | Status as of 7 September 2026 |
|---|---|
| Organiser | Dubai Land Department (DLD) |
| Launch date | Early September 2026 (target) |
| Rate for the tenant | 0% per annum |
| Maximum instalment tenor | Up to 12 months |
| Who pays the landlord | Partner bank — full annual rent upfront |
| Bank name | Not disclosed |
| Tenant eligibility | Not finalised |
| Administrative fees | Not disclosed |
| Regulator | DLD; the lending leg sits under Central Bank of the UAE rules |
The gaps here are typical for DLD: the department announces the framework and releases the exact caps, the partner bank and the application process in a separate press pack closer to the launch date. Flexi Rent was rolled out the same way in June 2026, with several weeks between announcement and go-live.
Where it sits in DLD's strategy: after Flexi Rent
Flexi Rent, launched by DLD on 23 June 2026, is built differently. It is a DLD partnership with a roster of real-estate companies that agreed to accept payment in monthly, quarterly or semi-annual chunks. Money moves directly from tenant to landlord; there is no bank in the chain; and coverage is limited to properties of participating developers and agencies.
Rent Now, Pay Later is the next step: DLD adds a bank into the chain. That changes two things in principle. First, the landlord stops being a soft-form credit provider to the tenant — same annual rent, but received upfront. Second, coverage can extend across the wider Dubai market — not just the Flexi Rent pool — provided the tenant qualifies with the partner bank.
What it changes for an expat tenant
Dubai rentals have historically meant one or two cheques for the full year upfront — a heavy hit even on stable incomes. Rent Now, Pay Later smooths that peak:
- Cash flow is even. The annual rent becomes 12 equal monthly payments with no interest — classic zero-interest instalment logic.
- Credit history builds inside the UAE banking system. Regular RNPL payments are records on the bank account, not cash or cheques to the landlord — useful for a future mortgage or auto loan.
- The true price of a rental gets easier to compare. "Attractive" single-cheque units used to cost more in practice because of the locked-up cash; that comparison against a monthly model becomes straightforward.
The flip side: access will not be universal. The partner bank's criteria will almost certainly require a certain income level, residency tenure and possibly a salary transfer. Until those parameters are published, it is too early to plan a move around a specific RNPL-enabled unit.
What it changes for a landlord-investor
An investor living off rental income gets a product that is close to a coupon in predictability: the annual sum lands on the account in a single transfer from the bank, and portfolio ROI modelling gets simpler. Less risk of missed cheques and less time spent negotiating payment plans — the bank absorbs that. The rate itself, maintenance, insurance, taxes and service-charge obligations remain the owner's responsibility.
For anyone modelling a buy-to-let purchase, RNPL feeds directly into the assumptions — it lowers vacancy risk and makes the first year after signing predictable. For the underlying yield model, see our breakdown of Dubai property yields and ROI structure.
What corporate tenants should check
A meaningful share of Dubai rent is paid by companies — for offices and for staff housing an employer leases on behalf of an employee. For a corporate tenant, the banking side of RNPL will most likely require an active account with the DLD partner bank and confirmation of regular cash flows. If opening or restructuring a corporate account is still an open question, see our guide to the corporate bank account in the UAE.
What to check when the scheme launches
- The named partner bank — this drives tenant requirements (minimum income, salary transfer, residency tenure).
- Whether there is any processing fee — a headline 0% annual rate does not always mean zero fixed set-up cost.
- The annual-rent cap — programmes of this type typically have an upper limit on the covered amount.
- The list of properties and developers where the scheme will be available in the first wave: DLD is likely to start with a vetted pool and expand later.
- What happens on early lease termination — how remaining instalments are settled and how the amount already paid to the landlord is handled.
This material is informational only and is not financial or legal advice. Primary source — Dubai Land Department; current terms and the full rulebook will be published on dubailand.gov.ae and in DLD press releases closer to launch.

